top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaweria Afreen Hussaini

Bigotry is no longer our dirty little secret

Updated: May 31, 2020



Although for millions of people, religion is a daily practice, and the very real framework of an understanding that connects human lives. Their faith is the prism through which they view the world. In childhood, I would think, “This person believes something different from me. Cool.” And my parents always reiterated, “You treat people with love and respect, no matter what.” And it worked for me. In adulthood, I probably have the same general attitude – except now I want to know why people believe what they believe in (or don’t). Despite my liberal upbringing and my strong support for free speech; I refuse to give benefit of doubt to the ones who question my existence. It sums up a worry of many citizens.

We are all proud that we are Muslims and proud that we are Indians. We all belong to this country and this country belongs to us.

The India we grew up in had so much love; now wherever you look you see plain and simple hatred for each other and that scares me, especially for my kids. For us with a Muslim tag, things are too crazy to even make sense. India's historic destiny has many human races and cultures and religions. The rising assertiveness will shape the future of India’s turbulent democracy — for better or for worse, I don’t know exactly.

But what I know is, I am an Indian and I am part of the indivisible unity that is Indian nationality. I am indispensable to this noble edifice, and without me this splendid structure of India is incomplete.

In an age when there are attempts to redefine what it means to be Indian, it’s time to think twice before tagging yourself a Proud Indian.

Every day I see some representation of me in the media. It’s a difficult thing to escape. I can’t hide from my Muslim identity because the media shows it to me every day. So I can either withdraw into my shell or I can respond to that conversation.

The distorted images of Islam stem partly from a lack of understanding of Islam among non-Muslims and partly from the failure by Muslims to explain to self and to them. The results are predictable: hatred feeds on hatred. Bigotry is no longer our dirty little secret.

We are struggling in finding the appropriate balance between committing to faith and trying to make sense of the negative rhetoric and stereotypes of the selected section of the society. It is evident that most people around the world would prefer to live in peace than in conflict. Yet, often the only religious voices on the front page are those speaking messages of hatred or violence.

I am a Muslim and am proud of the fact that I belong to Islamic religion and culture, and I cannot tolerate any interference with them. Islam's splendid traditions of 1,400 years are my inheritance. I am unwilling to lose even the inch of this inheritance. The teaching and history of Islam, its arts and letters and civilization, are my wealth and my fortune. It is my duty to protect them. The spirit of Islam does not come in the way of my nationality and patriotism sentiments; it guides and helps me forward as a good human being as well as a good citizen of my country.

I refuse to accept the constrictive definition of nationalism. I will defend this battle that wants to twist my faith. I am who I am because of my faith. This has forced me to interact with people so that they understand my reality.


My world crashes around me each day when I read the news and random voices across the country direct me to go out of my country and that I don't belong here. I mean,. These are my roots; and I will submerge in my country's soil. Far too often I have been labeled as a stranger, an outsider, an anti-national? A wave has been created where my religion is demonized and am imposed with others way of life. I am denied a dignified existence in my own country. I believe that everyone is free to practice their religion. I love this land as much as anyone else and I love the people of this land even though some don’t view me as equal.

Let me tell you who I am. I am a Muslim, I am a human being and I am an Indian. Islam is my way of life. I am not hateful or intolerant. I am just a Muslim. I consider religion as a medium through which we can contribute to the world.

There is no issue in wearing religion on your sleeve, but your commitment to secular ideals has to be unflinching. Both sides believe it threatens their most basic values. Ignorance and misconceptions about their own religion is leading to a kind of defensive posture within their societies and a combative environment. By accentuating the majority-minority fissures, the hate leaders are spewing the fragile secular fabric of the country.


All our deeper and more permanent values are similar. Coming together on issues that are common to all of us education and poverty, growing inflation, surging unemployment and taxes needs all of us to work towards a better world and better future to synergism and a new spirit of oneness. The respect for knowledge, justice, compassion towards the less privileged, healthy family life, and the need to improve the here and now are commonalities that we already have but lost somewhere in this communal chaos.

We all share the cardinal values that underpin our faith and our patriotism. We have to start saying we’re not going to stand for this anymore. We are all for free speech. But free speech comes with responsibility. Those who are in doubt must talk to Muslims who are practicing the religion and not to self-styled "leaders" of the community.

And most importantly the media has to act responsibly by not propagating the polarization and bigotry. I would suggest to all that we need to start asking more questions.


Muslims have to reach out to own people so that mutual interactions can help refine own perceptions of other communities. I believe real patriotism is demonstrated through the timeless values of Indian civilization - fairness, justice, tolerance and pluralism. Indian Muslims and their forefathers had options open before them either to go to West or East Pakistan, but preferred to remain in India with a sacred oath in heart to serve their motherland in all odds and evens. Thus, the Indian Muslims passed the litmus test of patriotism by opposing partition till its unfortunate materialization, and subsequently choosing India instead of Pakistan as their motherland. Now we don’t need to prove our patriotism to anyone and no one has the moral right to question an Indian Muslim about their patriotism and nationalism


3 views0 comments
bottom of page