top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaweria Afreen Hussaini

It's OK!  I'm Odd...


No matter what people tell you, your work, words and ideas can change the world. Our job is improving the quality of life, not just delaying death. We’re all human beings. Experience is experience, let’s just be honest. Let’s not try and dissect suffering into a race, or whatever you want to call it. We’re all human beings, one way or another. All races have gone through times that are challenging; that’s part of being a human. I'm an ambitious person. I never considered myself in competition with anyone, and I’m not saying that from an arrogant standpoint, It’s just that my journey started so, so long ago, and I’m still on it and I won’t stand still. It's okay to sometimes be at odds with the people you love. Remember: the only person you need to be true to in your life is yourself. You are the only person whose judgement you need to be concerned with when you're making decisions. You're the only person who has to like you because you're stuck with you. Don’t just give yourself boundaries! Just know your boundaries. Not only are boundaries helpful for your own needs, but they’re also helpful for others to know how to best connect and interact with you. Wants and needs are a big part of many facets of life. What you need to stop caring about is what the world-at-large thinks of you. Your co-workers, party acquaintances, friends of friends, the guy in the store, online commenters—it does not matter what these people think. Yes, they're perfectly entitled to their opinions, and you are perfectly entitled to not give a tiny rat's ass about those opinions. When it comes to your life, you can generally bet that other people don't know what they're talking about, and if someone wants to judge you, that's their bitter little problem. You shouldn't let it break your proverbial stride. When you start caring about people’s approval, and you will always be their prisoner. You have no responsibility to live up to what other people think you ought to accomplish. I have no responsibility to be like they expect me to be. It’s their mistake, not my failing. 




11 views0 comments
bottom of page