top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaweria Afreen Hussaini

CHOOSE WHAT IS BEST FOR YOU.

Every block of stone has a statue inside it and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it.

As people, we bury and burden ourselves with so many things that are not ours. We take on and own things that don’t belong to us. No, I’m not talking about stealing. In fact, we’re actually giving something very valuable away. We give away our connection to self when we take on the imprints and beliefs of our family, friends, culture, or world. What we are capable of achieving when we decide to put our whole being… heart and soul… into something that consequently taps into our greatest selves. We only have one life to give the world everything we’ve got. Yes, we have to deal with things. Yes, life can be hard, and yes, the world can sometimes be a cold place. People are rivers, always ready to move from one state of being into another. It is not fair, to treat people as if they are finished beings. Everyone is always becoming and unbecoming. Sometimes being the real me is scary... the rage, the disappointment, the expectations, the un-appreciation, the cloudy storm of thoughts that blur the beauty in the self inflicted pain, these are the things that remain once I remove the illusion of socially acceptable me. When you try so hard to be someone you’re not, you lose sight of yourself. You end up doing things to please other people, resulting in living by their expectations. In the end, you become what they want you to be, which can lead anyone down the wrong path to self-destruction. The lowest point period of my life where I felt lonely has taught me so many things. It taught me about those who were there for me, and those who weren’t. It taught me about how I dealt with those feelings, to rely on myself more; yet, in the same breath, it also spurred me on to find other people who got me and accepted the person I was becoming. If you feel that you’ve been pretending for too long, fitting in with those around you, perhaps now is the time to take some steps to change that, to un-become who you are.

A keen sense of humor helps us to overlook the unbecoming, understand the unconventional, tolerated the unpleasant, overcome the unexpected, and outlast the unbearable.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Motor skills in kids takes time

Learning to write involves many skills. Kids develop writing skills at different rates. But they tend to meet certain milestones by certain ages. Well, actually, you shouldn’t be teaching your young

Normalising educational ecosystem

The pandemic has completely transformed the way we teach and the way students interact. The need for social and emotional activities has become more apparent during the pandemic and remote learning. E

bottom of page