top of page
  • Writer's pictureJaweria Afreen Hussaini

Hijab!!! The forbidden attire to the world..

Updated: Sep 12, 2021

Modesty means behaving in a way that maintains one's own self-respect and the respect of others, whether in dress, speech or behaviour. The Quranic view of the ideal society is that the social and moral values have to be upheld by both Muslim men and women and there is justice for all, that is between man and man and between man and woman.


The western discourse and so called liberal community has consistently argued that the hijab is not a symbol of freedom, but one of oppression. The #Hijab (Veil) has become, perhaps more than any other single issue, the defining "women's question". Governments address hijab coverings in different ways.


Most of Muslim women with Hijab in a public domain are questioned that our dress does not match our intelligence. They constantly strip the activity of a Muslim woman down to her hijab or attire.

The so called modern & intellectuals population think that Hijab is for an era of ignorance.


Well-Educated Muslim women choose to wear the hijab as a way of showing self-control, power and agency. Paradoxically, it is the women who are engaging with the modern world who appear to rely on the veil to signal to others that they will express their freedom.


Let me explain:


Religious liberty is not only a universal right, but it also depends upon a universal responsibility to respect that right for others, treating others as we ourselves desire to be treated. All citizens must recognize the inseparable link between the preservation of their own constitutional rights and their responsibility as citizens to defend those rights for all others. If we are to live with our differences, particularly our religious differences, how we debate, and not only what we debate, is critical.


Do you think hijab or other expressions of religious identity are discussed with respect in your community?

There needs to be a strong commitment to the civic values that enable people with diverse religious and philosophical perspectives to treat one another with respect and civility. At times, it can be hard to navigate this personally as a women of faith, especially when the media demonizes Islam 24/7.


For many Muslim women, wearing a hijab offers a way for them to take control of their bodies and challenge the ways in which women are marginalized by men.


Hijab is the mascot of the most enlightened Muslim girls who are pursuing prestigious courses in top class universities. In fact, they wear it not as a symbol of control by a man, but rather to promote their own feminist ideals.


My Muslim identity combined with my hijab did not restrict me but encouraged me to break glass ceilings, empower my peers and form meaningful friendships and relationships. My Hijab doesn’t keep me away from the things I love to do.


Modesty is not uniquely an Islamic requirement. It's also expressed in other monotheistic religions. For example, ultra orthodox Jewish women wear wigs to cover their hair. Nuns wear apostolic as a sign of their religious consecration. Episcopalian women are supposed to wear hats to church.


In a world of mad consumer trends, where we are constantly worried about keeping up with the latest fashion trends, I find it powerful that women can let go a part of their ‘beauty’ and find trust and happiness in their timeless statement piece, the hijab.


As I slowly realized, the only thing that prevented me from integrating with everyone was my preset prejudice against myself: I had set limits on myself. I had to change my mindset, starting with regaining my self-confidence.


Prophet Muhammad said, "Every religion has a chief characteristic and the chief characteristic of Islam is modesty." In fact Prophet Muhammad sallalahu alai hi wa sallam himself was described as being the epitome of modesty in his behaviour with people. When the Quran tells believers to lower their lustful gazes and guard their chastity - important aspects of the modesty tradition - it begins by commanding this to men before women (Q 24:30-31).


From the 1st century mankind were naked however, as he is becoming more aware with time he discovered clothes and Hijab is the peak of advancement that mankind have ever achieved and this is not backwardness. But nakedness is the sign of backwardness and behaviour of 1st century.


Some women feel liberated nude, and others when they’re covered.


Had it been nakedness is a sign of advancement, animals would have been more advanced than mankind. Many women choose to wear the hijab as a sign of faith, feminism, or simply because they want to.


• My Hijab forces people to go beyond my looks and see me for who I truly am.


• It acts as a filter for people who will judge me based on the fact that I do wear the hijab.


• It sparks conversations about my faith.


• It certainly cannot be deemed a marker of terrorism.


• So,What’s wrong when I choose myself to Not to be objectified?


• I refuse to be a pawn in society’s beauty game.


• I decided to reject what society expected me to do, and cover up. I don’t choose to be under the prejudices of non-Muslims to judge me.

Isn’t this Statement enough to give the message Loud and Clear!


The negative media coverage of Muslim communities, alongside government counter-terrorism policies has further demonized Muslims.


Real oppression begins when you deprive someone of choice. So yes, forcing someone to wear the hijab is oppression. But then again, forcing them to take it off is also oppression. A very small minority may claim to be forced to wear the hijab and that is the center of attraction and the Islamophobia starts its propaganda from here. They identify these girls and women and bring them under the domain, give them platforms to show off their oppression so that an agenda runs smoothly.


Just as women should be free and empowered to choose not to wear the hijab, they must also be free and empowered to wear it, if that's what they want. Many women choose to wear the hijab as a sign of faith, feminism, or simply because 👉 they 🧕want to. I firmly believe that a woman’s dress should not determine how others treat, judge or respect her.


It is me telling the world that my femininity is not available for public consumption. I am taking control of it, and I don’t want to be part of a system that reduces and demeans women. Behind this exterior I am a person – and it is this person for which I want to be known. Fear is a legitimate and reasonable reaction, but it’s not the only reaction we can have as a strategy for defending against bigoted attacks.

This dimension is increasingly important for many women who choose to wear it; it’s a shame it is understood by so few.



44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

*Women in Islam* ✍️

The Rights of women in Islam upheld and protected from being just a mere commodity in the households, wives became a source of dignity....

bottom of page